The University of Oklahoma

University: | National Weather Center:

Founded in 1890, The University of Oklahoma (OU) is today a coeducational public research university located in Norman, Oklahoma with over 30,000.   students enrolled, most located at its main campus in Norman. Employing nearly 3,000 faculty members, the school offers 152 baccalaureate programs, 160 master’s programs, 75 doctorate programs, and 20 majors at the first professional level. David Boren, a former U.S. Senator and Oklahoma Governor, has served as President of the University of Oklahoma since 1994. The school is ranked first per capita among public universities in enrollment of National Merit Scholars and among the top ten in the graduation of Rhodes Scholars. PC Magazine and the Princeton Review have rated OU one of the “20 Most Wired Colleges” in both 2006 and 2008, while the Carnegie Foundation classifies it as a research university with “very high research activity.” Located on its Norman campus is the National Weather Center, a unique blend of university, federal (primarily NOAA), and private sector weather and climate organizations.